Senaste tillägget på önskelistan

Jag upptäckte en bok som seglade in överst på min önskelista, okej, kanske på andra plats då, Simona Ahrnstedts nästa har väl ändå förstaplatsen..

Cover of The House of Fiction

House of fiction. From Pemberley to Brideshead. Great British Houses in Literature and Life av Phyllis Richardson.

Jag har ju uppfunnit en egen bokgenre, ”stort, brittiskt hus, möjligen fallfärdigt” för att beskriva en slags böcker jag bara älskar. Nu inser jag att jag är inte ensam om att gilla denna genre.

Fictional houses have captured readers’ imaginations for centuries, from Gothic castles to Georgian stately homes to Bloomsbury townhouses and high-rise pent-houses. This book illustrates how writers have used real and imagined houses to reflect the themes of their novels; how houses become like characters themselves, embodiments of the social and historical currents of their time, and it examines the particular connections those authors may have had to each one.

Nu skulle det ju bara gälla att få rättfärdigat en inköp också.. jag har i princip inköpsstopp just nu..

 

Kommentera

